‘Meaningful Use’ Stage 2 is Here

//‘Meaningful Use’ Stage 2 is Here

‘Meaningful Use’ Stage 2 is Here

To begin with, providers need to be using an electronic health record (HER) system that supports Meaningful Use (MU), stage 1 capabilities. Majority of these EHR systems are capable and ready to be used for MU Stage 2 incentive programs available to providers participating in 2014.

A very low percentage of providers have initiated the process to participate in the MU Stage 2 program which consists of 17 stages of 2 core objectives.

MU refers to provisions in the 2009 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act, which allows providers and hospitals to take advantage of incentives available as long as EHR records are used to record in a meaningful way that improves clinical and patient care.

Providers can collect up to $44,000 in incentive funds if they meet there measures and objectives.

Here are the details to each stage of MU:

Stage 1 – Capturing and sharing data
Stage 2 – Aims to create better communication between providers & medical facilities. (Must meet all 17 core objects and 3 of the 6 menu set objectives).
Stage 3 – Still being implemented (Will begin in 2017, for providers that have completed at least 2 years in stage 2 of MU).

Source: http://www.medpagetoday.com/PracticeManagement/InformationTechnology/43872